Federal Government’s Role

Presently, the federal government has a fairly limited role in the development of the Marcellus Shale natural gas resource within Pennsylvania.  Some of our Commonwealth’s regulations are actually more comprehensive than the federal government’s.  The EPA for example, has regulations that the states must comply with, but should the state’s regulation be stronger, the state’s regulation will prevail.

Since the beginning of the Marcellus Shale experience, there has been at least a Frac Act in congress sitting in committee.

The EPA is in the midst of completing a study on hydraulic fracturing.  The study is now slated to be completed in 2016.

The Department of Transportation’s Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration, The Office of Pipeline Safety, and the National Transportation Safety Board have a limited to no role over the majority of new pipelinesgathering lines built within the Northern Tier Region.  PHMSA is currently following through on a rulemaking which may address some gathering line regulation. It is much too early to know to what extent that may be if any.  The Federal Energy Regulatory Commission plays an important role over new transmission lines that may be sited in the region.  One example of a new transmission line having FERC jurisdiction is the Marc 1 Hub Line that is routed through both Bradford and Sullivan Counties.

C.O.G.E.N.T. supports every reasonable measure to adequately protect our public health and safety and environment provided those measures also accommodate the needs of industry; we at C.O.G.E.N.T. are interested in reaching that delicate balance that will allow all our communities needs to thrive.   One measure we very strongly support is regulation of Class 1 Area gathering lines.

The members of the U.S. Congress that represent the Northern Tier Region along with their contact information are noted below.

Senator Casey

393 Russell Senate Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20510
Phone: (202) 224-6324
Toll Free: (866) 802-2833
Fax: (202) 228-0604

Senator Toomey

248 Russel Senate Office Building
Washington, D.C.  20510
Phone: (202) 224-4254
Fax: (202) 228-0284

Congressman Tom Marino

410 Cannon House Office Building
Washington, D.C.  20515
Phone: (202) 225-3731
Fax:  (202) 225-9594

Represents Bradford, Sullivan, Susquehanna & Tioga Counties
Congressman Lou Barletta

115 Cannon House Office Building
Washington, D.C.  20515
Phone: (202) 225-6511
Toll Free: (855) 241-5144
Fax: (202) 226-6250

Represents Wyoming County

State Government’s Role

The members of the Pennsylvania Assembly that represent the Northern Tier Region along with their contact information are noted below.
Senator Lisa Baker

22 Dallas Shopping Center
Dallas, PA 18612
(570) 675-3931
FAX: (570) 674-5037


Senate District 20
Republican (Term Expires: 2014) serving Luzerne (part), Monroe (part), Pike, Susquehanna (part), Wayne and Wyoming Counties.

Senator Joseph Scarnati III

5 Main Street
Wellsboro, PA 16901
(570) 724-5231
FAX: (570) 723-5119


Senate District 25
Republican (Term Expires: 2016) serving Cameron, Clearfield (part), Elk, Jefferson, Mckean, Potter, Tioga and Warren (part) Counties.

Senator Gene Yaw

Elizabeth Street

Suite 13
Towanda, PA 18848
(570) 265-7448


Senate District 23
Republican (Term Expires: 2016) serving Bradford, Lycoming, Sullivan, Susquehanna (part) and Union (part) Counties.

Hon. Matthew E. Baker

74 Main Street
Wellsboro, PA 16901
(570) 724-1390
Fax: (570) 724-2168

121 Canton Street
Suite 6
Troy, PA 16947
(570) 297-3045


District 68
Republican, serving Bradford (Part) and Tioga Counties.

Hon. Karen Boback

608 Hunter Highway
Suite 110
Tunkhannock, PA 18657-9107
(570) 836-4777
Fax: (570) 836-4772


District 117
Republican, serving Columbia (Part), Luzerne (Part) and Wyoming (Part) Counties.

Hon. Sid Michaels Kavulich

1038 Montdale Road
Scott Township, PA 18477
(570) 254-9672

District 114
Democrat, serving Lackawanna (Part), Luzerne (Part), Susquehanna (Part) and Wyoming (Part) Counties.

Hon. Sandra Major

16501 State Route 706
Suite 2
Montrose, PA 18801
(570) 278-3374
Fax: (570) 278-2952

130 N. Bridge Street
Suite 3
Tunkhannock, PA 18657
(570) 836-5888


District 111
Republican, serving Susquehanna (Part), Wayne (Part) and Wyoming (Part) Counties.

Hon. Tina Pickett

321 Main Street
Towanda, PA 18848
(570) 265-3124
Fax: (570) 265-9453


District 110
Republican, serving Bradford (Part), Sullivan and Susquehanna (Part) Counties.

Local Government’s Role

Brad Co Map
Sully Map
SusqCO Map
Tioga Map
WyoCo Map
County and municipal governments also play a very limited role regarding the exploitation of Marcellus Shale Natural Gas.  There are approximately 182,663 souls in the five counties of the 3,987 square mile area of the Northern Tier Region.
















Source: List of Counties in Pennsylvania

Local control comes down to zoning.  Whether or not there is zoning, dictates what involvement if any, the role that municipal governments may have.  Most municipalities are not zoned within the region.

The role of each county has also varied within the Northern Tier Region.  Some counties opted to form natural gas tasks forces, some did not.  Each county has a Board of Commissioners.  Each county has a Planning Commission, and it is within the Planning Commission that land development is approved and pipeline, gathering lines, well pads and other facilities may be mapped.

Bradford County
BradCo CH
Sullivan County


Susquehanna County

SusqCo CH

Tioga County

Tioga Co CH

Wyoming County

WyoCo CH

Concerned residents who want to be aware of what is happening in their communities would obtain the best information by attending their local municipal government and county planning meetings.  Often meetings will entail information concerning proposed well pads, road use agreements or compressor stations and similar facilities.  Some municipalities have websites and residents may seek information there.

Each county does have a website, and below noted are their addresses.  Bradford County has an excellent amount of information devoted to the Marcellus Shale exploitation within the county.

Bradford County        Bradford County Natural Gas Information
Sullivan County        Sullivan County Energy Task Force
Susquehanna County
Tioga County
Wyoming County